The contest year for the 2017 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards will close on July 15 . Be sure to enter your best work that appeared in print, online or on air between July 16, 2016, and July 15, 2017. The entry deadline is August 1, 2017.

Thanks to an expanded endowment from The Kavli Foundation, the competition is open to professional journalists from around the world in each of the eight reporting categories. There is no entry fee. Please read the Contest Rules and Frequently Asked Questions before submitting.

Note: If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation. If a translation is a hardship, we may be able to help. Please see the FAQ.

Contest RulesSubmission ProceduresFAQs

The awards recognize outstanding reporting for a general audience and honor individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics. Stories on the environment, energy, science policy and health qualify if they deal in a substantive way with the underlying science. Independent committees of journalists select the winning entries.

The contest is administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). We will present two awards in each category: a Gold Award ($5,000) and a Silver Award ($3,500).

They will be presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting in February 2018 in Austin, Texas. The award covers travel and lodging for winners in each category.

The categories:

  • Large Newspaper (daily or weekly papers with a circulation of 150,000 or more)
  • Small Newspaper (daily or weekly papers with a circulation of less than 150,000)
  • Magazine
  • TV – Spot News/Feature Reporting (20 minutes or less)
  • TV – In-Depth Reporting (more than 20 minutes)
  • Audio (Radio or Podcast)
  • Online
  • Children’s Science News (reporting on science for children, including young teens up to age 14)

For questions, contact

More information on the contest on: