The following board members were elected for a period of two years with effect from 23 May 2015.

Rosalia Omungo is the chairperson for the Kenya Environment and Science Journalists Association (KENSJA), the first woman to head the association. She is a television journalist and News editor for the Kenya Broadcasting
Corporation in Nairobi, where she is in charge of Features, Health and Environment segments.  She was the first Earth Journalism Scholar at the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism, where she spent her spring in 2014 Semester taking advanced classes in Journalism and Environmental Studies. Her work has earned her accolades among them Commonwealth award for excellence in Reporting Environment in Africa (2010).  She is passionate about Environmental Governance and Development, and highlights issues facing Governance of Natural Resources through local and International Reportage on Climate Change, Water, Biodiversity and Agriculture, to press for policy action.
Organising Secretary

Maurice Otsieno is a media consultant and trainer at both local and regional level. A practicing professional journalist with fifteen years experience in radio broadcasting. He is currently working as both a presenter and producer of Science and Environment programmes at the Catholic Radio, Waumini, based in Nairobi. He has produced and presented programmes on Environment including Climate Change, Adaptation, Green and Renewable Energy amongst others. He is a holder of Communication and Journalism degree from Moi University. He has also attended trainings on Science journalism organized by UNEP, and attended various regional Science conferences in Nigeria, Uganda and Tanzania.


Ochieng Ogodo who is currently the Patron of KENSJA is an award winning Kenyan science journalist, trainer and facilitator. He is the Sub-Saharan Africa English Regional Coordinator and News Editor for SciDev.Net, the world’s leading free source of news, views and analysis about science and technology in the developing world. He is the English-speaking Africa and the Middle East region winner for the 2008 Reuters-IUCN Media Awards for Excellence in Environmental Reporting. As a journalist, his works have been published in various parts of the world including Africa, the UK and USA. Some of the outlets for his stories have been The Standard Newspaper (Kenya) The Sunday Express [Kenya], Biosafety News (Kenya) Egypt based OnislamonlineNew Agriculturalist(UK), Guardian (UK), Transport International (UK) and National Geographic. He was also one of the blog authors for the World Conference of Science Journalists [WCSJ] held in London from June 29-July 3, 2009. He ventured into journalism in 1996 at The East African Standard, one of the two leading media houses in Kenya and with good following in East Africa as well. At The Standard he worked at the News Desk which entailed rigorous reporting including news breaking based on assignments and personal initiatives. From September 1999 to October 2003 he moved to the Investigative Desk as one of the leading writers to the then widely read investigative pull-out, The Big Issue. He comprehensively and extensively wrote on human interest issues, personality profiles, entertainment, transport and maritime. Ogodo has done commentaries and analysis on major topical issues as well as Special Projects. From October 1, 2003 to November 1, 2006 he was a staff writer with the now defunct Biosafety News – then a Nairobi-based Science, Biotechnology, Health, Environment and Agriculture Magazine. He was a Senior Staff Writer at Doctor News East Africa [Kenya] from September 2007 to June 2008. He has been to various international scientific forums, including a number World Conference of Science Journalists. He’s made many presentations in workshops and conferences. He holds, among others, Bachelor of Science in Communication and Journalism from Moi University (Kenya), Diploma in Communication and Public Relations – Moi University (Kenya) and Diploma in Climate Change Reporting from Denmark.


Wangari Ndirangu is a board member of the KENSJA. She has been a journalist for over 15 years. She works at Kenya News Agency where she covers Science with a bias towards Environmental. Wangari has attended a one year exchange programme in Zambia where she wrote hundreds of articles on environment. She has attended several science journalism trainings both in the country and outside. She has a passion for science journalism.

Secretary General

Linda Bach is the Secretary General of KENSJA. She is a Revise Editor with The Standard Group, publishers of The Standard Newspaper, in Nairobi. She has been with the group for 10 years and has served in various positions. Between 2005 and 2008 she was the editor in charge of the group’s science pullout where she honed her skills in science writing and editing. Prior to joining Standard, she worked with The Sub-saharan Informer, an online publication in eight African countries. Linda has been to various international conferences and workshops. In 2006, she attended a workshop funded by Abbot Fund in Arusha Tanzania. The workshop was followed by a field trip to Mt Meru Hospital’s new laboratory. In April 2007, she attended a workshop on Safe Abortion organised by African Woman and Child Features at Lenana House. In 2008, she covered the 3rd Aid Effectiveness Aid Conference in Accra, Ghana. Other workshops she has attended include; Africa Journalists Media Conference in Johannesburg South Africa; Media 21 Food Security and Climate Change Workshop in Nairobi; Media21 workshop on Aid Effectiveness in Accra Ghana, Workshop on science reporting organised by Michigan State University in Arusha, Tanzania; the 11th World Social Forum in Dakar, Senegal, as one of the female journalists sponsored by African Women Development Network (Femnet) and Panos Institute West Africa (Piwa). She holds a post-graduate Diploma in Mass Communication from the University of Nairobi and a Bachelor’s degree from Kenyatta University.

Vice Secretary General

Gilbert Nakweya is a Nairobi-based freelance science and technology Journalist with a bias to developing countries. He has five years experiencing writing science development matters especially in Africa. He writes for SciDev.Net and eLearning Africa.

Assistant Treasurer

Charles Ogallo is a practicing professional journalists and is currently working at Baraka FM Limited as News Editor. Has vast reporting experience on United Nations Conferences of Parties on climate change (COPS). He is a Media Fellow with UN-Climate Change Media and Award Winning UNFCCC climate Change African Radio Journalist 2011/12. Ogallo is a founder member of CDM African Radio Journalists Club mandated by United Nations Framework on the Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) to promote climate change reporting particularly on Clean Development Mechanism-CDM initiatives in Africa. He is also a Kiplinger Media Fellow 2014 on online and social media reporting.

Committee Members:
Wangari Ndirangu
Henry Wahinya
Ayoki Onyango
Constance Lerte
Francis Marwa