The following board members were elected for a period of two years with effect from 23 May 2015.
Deputy Chairperson

Wangari Ndirangu is a board member of the KENSJA. She has been a journalist for over 15 years. She works at Kenya News Agency where she covers Science with a bias towards Environmental. Wangari has attended a one year exchange programme in Zambia where she wrote hundreds of articles on environment. She has attended several science journalism trainings both in the country and outside. She has a passion for science journalism.

Secretary General

Gilbert Nakweya is a Kenyan journalist interested in coverage of scientific issues with a bias to the developing world. His major beats of interest include agriculture, health, climate change, space science, environment, data, energy and higher education. Nakweya’s coverage of these issues is anchored on policy and sustainable development in line with country frameworks as well as regional and global development blueprints namely AU’s Agenda 2063 and UN’s Agenda 2030 on Sustainable Development. He has a career spanning 9 years and has written for SciDev.Net, Bhekisisa-Mail&Guardian’s Centre for Health Journalism and University World News. He has travelled and extensively covered across Africa in countries such as Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Nigeria, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania and Uganda.

He holds a Bachelor of Science in Communication and Journalism degree from Kenya’s Moi
University. Additionally, Nakweya holds a certificate in science solutions journalism from
Rhodes University, South Africa.

He also holds a certificate in agricultural communication for intermediaries from the International
Institute for Tropical Agriculture, Nigeria. He is currently pursuing a Master's degree in
Communication Studies, Development Communications major at the University of Nairobi in

Deputy Secretary General
Deputy Treasurer

Charles Ogallo is a practicing professional journalists and is currently working at Baraka FM Limited as News Editor. Has vast reporting experience on United Nations Conferences of Parties on climate change (COPS). He is a Media Fellow with UN-Climate Change Media and Award Winning UNFCCC climate Change African Radio Journalist 2011/12. Ogallo is a founder member of CDM African Radio Journalists Club mandated by United Nations Framework on the Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) to promote climate change reporting particularly on Clean Development Mechanism-CDM initiatives in Africa. He is also a Kiplinger Media Fellow 2014 on online and social media reporting.

Organizing Secretary

Verenardo Meeme is a science journalist who currently works as a correspondent for the Cornell University-based Cornell Alliance for Science. He was awarded the 2018 Global Leadership Fellowship at the same University.

He has also worked, at the International Service for the Acquisition of Agri-biotech Applications as a communications consultant and has also produced documentaries for Kenya’s Ministry of Agriculture.

Meeme Occasionally contributes to news ideas, analysis and opinions for various publications in East Africa as well as produces multimedia stories on a freelance basis for the UK-based Science and Development Network (SciDev.Net).

Verenardo is currently pursuing a master’s degree in communication studies at the University of Nairobi. He holds a bachelor’s degree in communication and public relations from Moi University and a Diploma in Journalism from Kenya Institute of Mass Communication (K.I.M.C).

Board Member
Board Member
Board Member